e9 3.0CS Weber Carburetor installing?

tom

Reaction score
hello all,
i´m tom from germany and driving 1972 cs 3.0.

now i´m trying to find out what the difference will be if i would change to weber Carburetor? (i´m using 2 standard zenith Carburetors)

- more power? (how much approx.)
-what will happen to the consumption (17ltrs now approx)

- what is the coding on the Carburetors? Weber xx DOCE? xxx?
(double...)
-whats the diffenrence between 40/45...?
http://search.ebay.de/search/search...ion=compare&copagenum=1&coentrypage=search
- is it necessary to use 3 of the same? or can i mix up?

it would be great to get some infos/tips from you what to dio!

thank you!
best regards,
tom

texcarguy

Reaction score
Webers

Tom,
I'm no expert, but do have a triple Weber DCOE40 setup on my engine with a Korman manifold Pics here: [url]http://auldridge.org/bmwCS/index.htm [/url]. On a recent 2800-mile trip, I averaged about 18 miles per gallon, this at 70-80 mph cruise... However, this was with the 5-speed overdrive transmission. You'll have to convert this to metric terms!

My belief is one of the advantages of the DCOE's is simplicity of operation.. these carbs are dead simple, and just take a little attention to get synchronized, then leave them alone. Many similar installations use DCOE 38's (the numerical designation is the size of the primary bore of the carb.. presumably larger allows more gas, more power, less fuel economy... However, there is a limit.. too large, and the engine suffers from low-rpm torque... just too much air volume to get good flow. I suspect the 40's are about the max size you'd want to use on this engine.

I recently had a '72 Ferrari 365GTC/4 V12 with 6 DCOE38's, but then as a 4.2l engine, individual cylinder displacement was less than with the BMW. Interestingly enough, at wide-open throttle, the Bimmer 6 sounds VERY similar to the Ferrari V12 (that's the engine sounds, NOT the exhaust.. sigh)