Opinion needed: 2001 E38 740i "Shorty" - thoughts?

shanon

Reaction score
Gruppe,

The other day a very, very stunning Black on Black, 2001 E38 740i (SWB) with the V8 and M wheels caught my eye. It is for sale by owner in a parking lot. I have no experience with 'modern' BMW's (my E9 and E3 only). I have heard both great and horrifying reports on these lovely 7s. Sure does look alot car for pennies of the original cost.

I love my E3 and a modern version of that people with luggage mover with real AC is appealing, especially for the ask.....

Should I run like hell or go it poke with a stick and give the beans?

TIA

lip277

Site Donor $
Reaction score
I have about 500,000 miles in two E38's. I love them. They are truly the best car you can drive and soak the miles up in, but they are not without their issues.
Originally, the M60 motors (back in the day) had the nikasil issue. There is plenty of info out there on that - I'd get familiar with that - but not get too worked up on that subject.
Now, 30 years later - that potential has pretty much wound its way to the sideline (similar to the IMS on the flat 6 in the early water cooled Porsche).
The M62 ('improved' M60) in the later E38's and E39's are a bit better - but are not trouble free by any stretch of the imagination.

Vanos, deferred maintenance (from previous owners) and general complexity mean that, IMO - these cars are not for everyone. I just had the struts replaced in my 2001 E38 (for the second time). That work and an alignment and such was near $5k. But - the car has near 250,000 miles. Driving it home - I was smiling. That reminded me why I have had these cars since about 2005. When I did the struts back in the early 2010's, I removed the EDC (electronic dampening control) struts and associated springs and installed 'regular' Bilstein struts and sport springs. Back then the EDC struts were $1,500 each. I don't want to know what they are now. LOL.