Assistance Appreciated

Wolfy

Reaction score
Members of the E9 community:

I am new to the E9 world and am very interested in potentially buying a manual transmission 2800cs or a 3.0cs (which would become my primary car). I like classic cars but I have never owned an older BMW. I would appreciate any advice folks would like to offer.

It is interesting - since my performance benchmarks are new cars, I would be interested in your opinion in how the 2800cs or 3.0cs performs. I recently drove a 1966 corvette stingray and I was very disappointed with the performance. A real hot rod in its day, its performance was really lacking in comparison with a new BMW or Audi. While I know that it is tough to compare a 40+ year old car against a new BMW, I still want a car that is exhilarating to drive.

If I had my choice I would buy a car at a low price (I liked the one that just sold in Portland) that needs cosmetic work (paint, interior, wheel, etc.). Any recommendations on what to look for (or to watch out for) when buying an E9?

Also - can anyone recommend a good E9 mechanic in Los Angeles?

Finally, to give a E9 the best performance possible, do folks have any suggestions for engine modifications (special carburation, fuel injection, turbochargers, etc)? I had even read about someone swapping out a larger engine for the stock 3.0.

Thanks in advance for everyone's help.

rsporsche

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
hey Wolfy,

i think its pretty difficult to make any 40+ year old car match up with a current car. perhaps you should find an old top gear challenge where they matched up an Aston DB5, an e-type jag and i think a 635csi (i could be wrong on some of the cars). the Stig drove a lap in an average current car ... and the others fell way short of that lap.