School Me on M30 Heads

ClayW

Reaction score
I’m picking up a solid 3 liter M30 bottom end for a slow build and I have zero knowledge of M30 heads. I assume that the design changed over three decades and several displacement sizes.

Ideally, I’d like something that would work with Motronic 1.3, but I’ve probably got some learning to do before then. (Would Motronic 1.3 even work with 3.0 liters? What should I do about a distributor, with or without 1.3?)

adawil2002

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
When Athena's original head was cracked at 2 exhaust valves. We went with a 1986 M30 head as it has drilled water jackets and 11mm of clearance at the exhaust valves. We also had a triple core radiator built and replaced the friction fan clutch with the updated viscous clutch. I run the original D-Jet.

-5.jpg
-2.jpg

Last edited:

Gary Knox

E9 Member Emeritus
Site Donor $$
Reaction score
My 3.8+ liter M30 has an '80 head. Been on it since 1993, now into the third owner, no problems whatsoever. It is also a FI engine with Motronic.

The engine etc. was built by Jim Rowe, owner of the popular BMW performance shop called Metric Mechanic and opened in 1977 near KC Missouri. His bored and stroked M30 engines usually dyno'd at about 275 HP and about 290 Ft Lbs of torque. Here's a link to Metric Mechanic's current heads for the M30 engine: http://metricmechanic.com/engine-heads/

Gary

Last edited:

sfdon

Site Donor
Site Donor $$
Reaction score
Motronic 1.3 for the big six engine uses specific port shape, different intake valves, K cam, no cold start valve, larger combustion chamber.
On a usa m30 block you will have about 7.1 : 1 compression. Nobody does this combo because of that.
You will need to port match your intake to your intake ports on the head.
And install a turbo with 10 psi.

rsporsche

Site Donor $$
Reaction score