New E9 owner in Seattle...what did I get myself into?

Bionicgold

Reaction score
Greetings E9 enthusiasts and fellow owners. I recently purchased a '73 3.0 CS in what I believe is Baikal Blue with red leather interior. I'm very new to the world of classic BMWs and the E9 in particular so I'm grateful for this forum and all the collective wisdom and experience of everyone here. I'd love to meet up with some of the local Seattle guys here to learn some of the basics of E9 ownership.

One thing already that I'd love to get some advice on. I got a pre-purchase inspection done a month ago before buying the car and everything checked out great. No rust issues, mechanically sound with the minor note of a leaking water pump and power steering pump. I had it shipped to Seattle and have only had time to take it on very short trips locally (less than 3 miles). Here's the issue. Last time I drove it, the temperature spiked just a few blocks after leaving the house so I turned around and came home. The temperature quickly dropped back down to normal. The quick temperature swings seemed odd, so I thought perhaps it was a bad sensor or maybe an air pocket in the cooling system (perhaps due to the water pump leak? photo attached). The next day, I topped off the coolant and started it up and let it idle to see if the temperature would jump again. No overheating, but there was white smoke at startup (steam?), which I've noticed before to varying degree, but it seemed more than usual. After a while, the white smoke clears, but I'm worried that it's caused by coolant getting into the cylinder heads somehow. Again, it passed the PPI with flying colors and there were no indications of any issue the first couple times I drove it. I haven't noticed any oil in the coolant or vice versa. I was going to take it to a local shop to have the water pump/power steering pump leak addressed, but now I'm worried about driving it at all. Any thoughts? Any local Seattle guys around to chat? Thanks!