Looking for a project

TrevS

Reaction score
Hi all

I am new on the forum and am possibly looking for an E9 project car that I could rebuild as a project to sit alongside my Series 1 Jaguar E-type. My E-type is completely stock so I really fancy something different and the idea of creating a batmobile group 2 replica very much like the group 2 Gosser Beer car that was advertised on Bring a Trailer recently.

IMG_4721-1-940x627.jpg

Could I ask what could I expect to pay for an E9 project car? I would ideally want something that is complete minus engine and gearbox. Condition of body is more important to me than mechanicals so what would you budget for something like this and where are the best places to look for cars?

Any help much appreciated

Trev

Markos

Site Donor
Reaction score
Hi Trev,

I'm not an expert on the subject but I do follow the cars for sale. I would say that you should expect to pay $30K for a rust free car that runs, drives, and looks nice. Ever six months or so a 'bag and tag' project car that has a clean body but needs everything comes up. These usually go for $10-$15K. You can find a car that runs and drives in the mid 20's, but it will generally have rust and interior issues. Keep your eye on the classifieds section here. Nearly all private sales listed in the US are posted, along with any interesting dealer sales or auctions.

TrevS

Reaction score
Hi Trev,

I'm not an expert on the subject but I do follow the cars for sale. I would say that you should expect to pay $30K for a rust free car that runs, drives, and looks nice. Ever six months or so a 'bag and tag' project car that has a clean body but needs everything comes up. These usually go for $10-$15K. You can find a car that runs and drives in the mid 20's, but it will generally have rust and interior issues. Keep your eye on the classifieds section here. Nearly all private sales listed in the US are posted, along with any interesting dealer sales or auctions.