Engine & transmission combination for responsiveness

Buzz204

Reaction score
I'm a newbie so please pardon any obvious gaffes!
I had a new 72 3.0CS (which rusted badly) and in 91 a new M5. The CS as you all know here was a gorgeous marvel and only the rusting prevented me from keeping it - wish I had! The M5 was a different thing altogether, after 3 911's it was just staggering. It just wanted to leap to the redline - it was so responsive! I know others have put an M5 engine into an E9 but at my age that is sheer fantasy. But what I would really like would be an E9 with a more responsive engine (not necessarily twin cam) and a matching transmission (probably 5 speed?) with short gears for fun but an overdrive top for cruising. Ease of service and reliability would be significant factors. Want to wind up with a tidy driver not a matching numbers show queen
I do follow these discussions but find most to require substantial insider knowledge. Is there a reference that you can direct me to or is there sufficient patience out there to help me get started?

rsporsche

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
hey ... you have a few questions in your post. i will try to tackle them in ease of answer to provide a little clarity.

first advice - do NOT buy rust on a coupe ... and keep the car dry.

tranny - there are only a few available
- getrag 265/6 and overdrive 5 speed ... the first 4 gears are the same as the 4 speed
- getrag 265/5 close ratio (dogleg) ... 5th gear is the same as 4th gear on the 4 speed box ... the other gears are closer together which makes for quicker acceleration ... but no 5th gear overdrive. these boxes have become very expensive and hard to find. primarily in euro 635csi. these are usually used with a 3.25:1 or 3.46:1 diff.