1972 Nachtblau Coupe on EBay

bubukitty

Reaction score
Here is a link to a 1972 coupe located in Sacramento. 5 speed car with electric sunroof, with a "Buy it Now" for $29,888 or "Make Offer". Was listed previously in the high $30's with no takers. I called the dealer and he said that the car is basically in good shape and has had 3 owners. Was originally a S. Cal car. Claimed no rust. Current owner has had the car since 2000. Driver's door is said to need aligning as it does not shut properly. New leather in 2001-2002 and paint then as well. AC needs re-charge. The dealer emailed me a bunch of service records. Looks like it has had a number of things done, including sunroof repair, A/C repair etc. Compression figures shown on one receipt looked good a number of years ago and recent ones show lower compression. I'm not an expert on leak down figures, but they do not look very consistent on all the cylinders per one receipt. One of the receipts said the car needed an engine rebuild.

Not sure what to think about this car. In one respect, it is somewhat compelling as it is a CA car supposedly from new and has a sunroof (my preference) and manual tranny, but not getting an overall warm and fuzzy on this one. I am willing to email the service records I received from the dealer if anyone is interested.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/E9-3...2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&forcev4exp=true

Arde

Site Donor $
Site Donor $$
Reaction score
Given that it is a consignment the most useful information would come from the owner and the previous mechanics.

Engine bay looks nice. New leather in 2001 is meaningless with the California sun, and the front seats have covers... If it needs an engine rebuild that would be good so you reduce that from the price and start with a fresh engine...