Steering rod ball joint question

Stevehose

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
My steering wheel is off a few degrees when driving straight and I can't stand it any longer. I bought the OTC 7315A ball joint separator that SFDon recommended in order to separate the steering arms so I can unscew one steering rod end and screw in the other a corresponding amount to straighten the wheel.

My question is once I pop the ball joint apart, can it be reused/bolted back on or is it a one shot deal and they need replacement with new ones? I have no experience here with these.

Thanks.

Mike Goble

Reaction score
You don't need to separate the balljoints, just loosen the sleeve collars and adjust the length of the unit.

Stevehose

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
How do I adjust the sleeve collars, aren't they threaded and therefore need to be disconnected in order to twist them?

You don't need to separate the balljoints, just loosen the sleeve collars and adjust the length of the unit.

KHB

Site Donor
Reaction score
As Mike mentioned, just loosen the 2 collar clamp bolts. Then you can turn the collar by hand if the threads are clean. The ball joint end and center section end are both threaded (like a turn buckle) so you don't have to remove anything.

Like you I couldn't stand it anymore and had to correct it. I did jack up both front wheels.

Stevehose

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
Brilliant. So they are they threaded in opposite directions and this is how alignment shops make adjustments?

Sven

Site Donor $
Reaction score
Yes. Has your car had an alignment recently? If not, you may want to have one done after you make the adjustment. Or, turn each side exactly the same number of degrees.

Lotuss7

Site Donor
Reaction score