Removing the starter

Simufly

Reaction score
Sure its been done befroe but cant seem to find a link.
Anyway what the best way to get the top bolt out?

Stevehose

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
assuming you have the original size starter, i ground down a wrench for better access but it is little turns at a time for a back breaking eternity. a modern starter will allow a socket to get to it. bluecoupe's idea is a good one.

rsporsche

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
once you get it out, follow SFDon's advice and put an AL444x in its place (from an 8 series), smaller, lighter, more efficient, much less expensive

rsporsche

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
i have no direct personal experience, but SFDon has stated that you can use the 441x or the 444x. i know that when he puts the euro b34 in my coupe this summer he will be swapping the starter as well. do a search for starters posted by sfdon and you should get your info.

Nicad

Site Donor
Reaction score
Pulled mine out just yesterday to prep my block for a repaint. Fortunately the bolts were not in tight. By chance I had a Heyco box end on hand. It was the only wrench I had that would fit the lower bolt. The Upper was removed with a 17 mm open end wrench. I had to remove my Carbs and heater hoses before I could get access. Will be putting the old starter back in, as it appears to be recently rebuilt with a Bosch label. Such a poor design from a servicing point of view. If they had offset things just a bit, you could get it out with a socket and extension.

02coastie

Site Donor
Reaction score
While I'm sure an official Bosch starter has a certain cachet, I can personally vouch for the DB Electrical rebuilt units on eBay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-STARTER...735-L6-M5-INBOARD-ENG-B630-B635-/140740542494