72 3.0CS 3.5 Engine rebuild

m5bb

Site Donor $
Reaction score
So it begins.
I've been collecting parts for over 3 months getting ready to start this project.
Hoped to start sooner but some parts took longer to arrive.
I was going to start a month ago but then the trip to Amelia Island Concours came up and decided to wait.

Drove car last time on Friday to move to garage bay with drive on lift.
Yes, I'm spoiled I have a lift. But I'm also 65 and crawling under cars is just not fun any more.
I have some pictures but did not detail every nut and bolt. If you need that much detail you probably shouldn't tackle this job.
Started underneath with down pipes from exhaust manifolds. Sometimes you can get stopped right there when rusty nuts won't come off. PB blaster is your friend.
Next was drive shaft. Center bearing needs to be loose to allow drive shaft to flex in the middle to get it out of the end of the transmission. Of course the flex joint (Guibo) has to come loose. Pay attention to the way it is oriented so you can put it back correctly.
Let me just say right here that a camera or cell phone camera is great to document how things are before you take them apart. I also buy Zip Lock bags that have a white space on them to write on so you can label all the nuts and bolts you will have. If it's too big for a zip lock get some small boxes. Remember my 65 year old memory is not as good as it once was.
Next was removing the bolts in the bell housing that hold it to the block.
I elected to take the engine out without the trans and bell housing.
I did my M5 engine 5 years ago with the trans attached. The engine was almost vertical when I lifted it up and then had to use a come-a-long to pull up the trans to get it over the fender. Whew, that was hard work.

You will need to loosen the support bracket for the trans to lower the back of the trans to get access to the shifter linkage. Couple different ways to take this apart. May depend on which trans you have. I have 265 5sp.