1972 Bavaria E3 (So Cal)

wkohler

Site Donor
Reaction score
Absolutely. It's of course entirely possible they confused that scratch with the one on the top of the trunk lid. Also, I'm not an expert (though I did stay in a Holiday Inn Express once), but I don't think that's Baikal. I see Baikal underneath whatever that single-stage blue is in the photo of the "slight scratch." That's how slight it is. The trim piece is really there too - you're just not seeing it.

jefftepper

Reaction score
I agree that the current color (as displayed on my monitor) does not look like Baikal, rather it is closer in tone to Atlantik. There is evidence of a respray in the photos. Given that disparity, I question the claim of "one owner" or at least that the seller is the original owner. Lastly, any thoughts on the asking price? I would have pegged the value closer to $6K but then, being CL, asking prices often are pumped up to deal with the expected grinding that buyers are known to do.

HB Chris

Site Donor $$
Reaction score
This car was repainted in Atlantik, one original owner prior to the current owner who bought it two months ago, it's in pretty decent shape too as I have seen it in person. He is thinning his collection of some pretty rare BMWs, a great guy who can be trusted as a seller too.

amg5872

Site Donor $
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm seriously thinking about buying this Bavaria. HBChris, I'd be interested in any more info you may have about the seller, as well as any more info anyone else may have. Thanks in advance.

renorennsport

Reaction score
I was the one who sold that car to the current owner.