How to fix your clock (maybe)

Tundra

Reaction score
The clock in my 72 hasn't worked for about 10 years, the 8 years it sat in the PO's barn/garage and 1 1/2 years it sat in my garage as I restore it. I decided to tackle the clock. It is I believe the 'older' style clock with a white plastic cover in the back as per the picture below

4125940028_0ac6187d34.jpg

There are 3 small bolts holding this plastic cover. 2 are visible and the 3rd one had a plastic seal which if broken voids the waranty as per the white label on this clock. So if you think your clock is still under waranty do not break this seal. As an aside, there is also a blue ink date stamp on the top of this cover indicating the manucfaturing date ( month &year) of the clock. Here you can see the three bolts.

4125940326_3bb4679d43.jpg

Once you remove the cover this is what you will see:

4125940176_2484ca0876.jpg

If you look at the above picture you will note a small copper eyelit between the 2 bolts.I studied this clock for about 15 minutes trying to understand how it worked and realized that it is basically a mechanical clock. There is a small round 'pendulum' attached to a gear. When I manually pushed this 'pendulum' the clock would work for two minutes and stop. I then noticed a part which looked like the points in the distributor which opened when I pushed the 'pendulum' back and were closed at the end of the two minutes cycle. Trying to understand what made these 'points' open I noticed the eyelit mentioned above and concluded that this small hole was not there for esthetic reasons and that it belonged somewhere. The only place it could possibly be attached was the small metal protrusion you will notice at 3'o clock of this eyelit.The picture below will show more details.

4125939848_e444b4c99e_o.jpg