E9 Find: Please help with the value (Pics Inside)

Markos

Site Donor
Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I'm a long time auto enthusiast and expert web surfer :). I'm new to BMW's, and I've been on the hunt for an E28 for over a year. I recently approached my neighbor about purchasing the E9 he's had parked outside of his house for a year (in the elements). It's a '71 four speed, and also includes the original wheels. I've been spending the weekend researching E9's, rust issues, cost of door seals, parts availability, etc. I've also looked over the various threads on pricing and value. With that said, I'd like to get your opinion on the vehicle. For what it's worth, I do all of my own mechanical work. More complicated jobs include a head gasket, and a manual transmission (VW O2O bolt kit) rebuild. I enjoy metal fabrication, but consider myself a novice welder. I've never done any body work. My father in law owns a body shop, and I could get his help with finishing and paint.

So here is the deal. I put an offer on the table for this vehicle. I want to ensure that I'm not throwing my money away, with your commentary on the photos below. I would greatly appreciate it if you please throw out some values? It would be helpful if you didn't say "don't buy it". I'd like to rescue the car regardless of whether I restore it, part it, or give it to someone who can.

1. Wheel Wells:
Seem solid, plastic covering but no spongy feeling when pressed, no gaping holes.

2. Rockers:
Center section seems solid, minor rot at the rear section, no holes. Holes and major flaking in the first 12". Only checked the driver's side.

3. Floors:
Squishy floor pan plug on driver’s side. Major flaking, looks like I could punch through with ease. Passenger side looks good from the top side. Rear foot wells seem good.

4: Fenders: